Sat. May 21st, 2022
Screenshot 2020 06 08 at 1.50.21 PM min Restrict Or Blocking Someone On Instagram: How is it different?

Many at times you might be faced with issues of blocking someone on Instagram without notifying the person, maybe because of some nasty thing’s you find on the persons timeline or cos of some personal reasons, let’s get you started on the differences of restricting and Blocking on Instagram and what features they offer.

Well, enough said, aren’t there a few times when a specific contact or a follower bugs us or get on our nerves? When they keep posting nasty comments on your pictures and stories, and you’re just a second away from blocking someone. Yes, we’ve all been through that. Blocking is one of the most effective ways to ignore someone. You agree with us, right?

But did you know about Instagram’s restrict feature? How is it different from blocking? Here’s a complete guide on block vs restrict someone on Instagram so that you can choose your privacy settings optimally.

Let’s get started.

Read more : How to Export your Outlook Address Book 6 Steps

Is Restricting Someone on Instagram the same as Blocking?

Umm no! When you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to see anything on your profile, including your posts, stories, followers, people who you are following, absolutely nothing. When they visit your profile somehow, they will be able to see your username and tiny profile pic icon and nothing more than that.

Screenshot 2020 06 08 at 1.50.21 PM min Restrict Or Blocking Someone On Instagram: How is it different?
Image Source: The Daily Dot

In addition to this, when you block someone on Instagram, they disappear from your profile. You won’t see their name anywhere, not even when you search for their ID explicitly. Also, all conversations that you did with that specific contact will automatically disappear from direct messages once you block them.

What Does it Mean to Restrict Someone?

Screenshot 2020 06 08 at 1.50.40 PM min Restrict Or Blocking Someone On Instagram: How is it different?
Image Source: The Verge

There are times when blocking someone you know can get awkward. It might be a known family member with whom you’re not comfortable to show your posts/stories or a creepy friend you met at a party. Well, to survive these dilemma-packed situations, Instagram also offers you a “Restrict” feature that can help you to ignore someone without making things problematic.

Restricting someone is like using a polite version of “Block”. It doesn’t notify the other person, hence saving you from all the trouble. When you restrict someone, they will be able to see your posts/stories, comment on it but it will be hidden from your profile. When you’re limiting contact or a follower, you’re just doing it for the sake of avoiding unwanted conversations which otherwise you had to face when you’re blocking someone.

Read more: How To Unsend An Email In Gmail 7 Steps

How Does the Restrict Feature Work? How is it Useful?

Agree or not, but the Restrict feature on Instagram is a real savior. It offers you all the perks of blocking someone without notifying them. How cool is that, right?

To Restrict someone on Instagram, here’s what you need to do. Head on to their profile whom you wish to restrict and then tap the three-dot icon on the right. Tap on the “Restrict” option. And that’s it!

Screenshot 2020 06 08 at 1.50.53 PM min Restrict Or Blocking Someone On Instagram: How is it different?

When you restrict someone and if they try to send you a direct message, Instagram won’t notify you and will directly send their message to the “Requests” section.

Screenshot 2020 06 08 at 1.51.07 PM min Restrict Or Blocking Someone On Instagram: How is it different?

And you know what’s great? They won’t be able to see your “Active now” or “Last Seen” status as well, and that’s huge relief too.

Why is Restricting Someone Better than Blocking?

Block vs restrict someone on Instagram? What would you pick? Well, if you want to ignore someone and don’t wish to hurt them by letting them know that they have been blocked, using the restrict feature is a great call. It leaves the other person in a bubble where they can still see your posts/stories, comment on it, send you messages, but it won’t be visible on your profile, and neither it can annoy you. So, yes, it works great

By WPFaqhub

I'm not perfect but I'm limited edition. I'm the fountainhead of WPFaqhub. A blog scientist by the mind and a passionate blogger by heart ❤️. Even more, I'm a Career Expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.