Twitter has evolved into one of the most powerful social media tools of our era. It has gradually evolved into a source of breaking news, an event announcement platform, and, of course, a way to engage with all of your followers.
Tweet, Retweet, DM, and other terminology are used by Twitter to describe various elements of the site. If you’ve been on Twitter for a while, you’ve probably heard of the term “Soft Block.” Let’s have a look at it quickly.
What is Soft Blocking on Twitter?
Soft blocking is the process of temporarily blocking and then unblocking someone in order to remove them as a follower without their knowing. Twitter will tell a follower if you remove them directly. However, because Twitter does not alert them when they are blocked, a short act of banning and unblocking has the effect of eliminating a follower without them realizing it.
Why Soft Block someone on Twitter
If you have someone following you or someone is following you but you want to delete them without informing them, Soft Block can help.
When you block someone, they are no longer a follower, and you are no longer able to follow them. However, this will make it clear to the other party that you have blocked them.
If you unblock them right away, they will be deleted from your list of followers, and you will no longer be following them. In most circumstances, this will go unnoticed on the other end, and even if it is noticed, it will appear as a glitch.
What happens when you Soft Block someone on Twitter?
When you Soft Block someone, they are no longer a follower of yours. They will no longer be able to see or respond to your private tweets. They will not be aware that you have deleted them as a follower because Twitter does not notify them when you block them, but removing someone removes them as a following automatically. As a result, it’s a clever approach to get rid of troublesome and nosy followers without their realizing it.
Soft Block vs Blocking
The term soft block refers to a temporary block while blocking someone is a permanent change that can only be reversed manually. Let’s take a look at some of the key differences between the two.
What happens when you block someone
- You unfollow each other.
- You can not follow each other again until the block is removed.
- You won’t be able to see each other’s timelines, tagged posts, or mentions.
- You won’t be able to send DMs to each other.
- You can’t view each other’s public info or add each other to Twitter lists.
What happens when you soft block someone
- You unfollow them and they unfollow you.
- You can follow each other again in the future.
- They can still tag you and you can still tag them in public tweets.
- They can view your public tweets and vice versa.
- They can send you DMs.
- They can add you to a list and view all your public info.
Soft block, as the name implies, uses Twitter’s blocking feature to remove a following without restricting access to other services. It’s a type of anonymous unfollow tool that’s not available on Twitter. You can delete a follower from your account without giving them a method to find out whether they’ve been blocked by you if you use soft blocking.
While you have banned someone on Twitter, however, it is rather obvious to the other person owing to the limited functionality and viewing capabilities when accessing your Twitter profile.
How to Soft Block someone on Twitter
Soft Blocking someone is simple whether you’re on a desktop computer or a mobile device. Let’s take a quick look at each device’s procedure.
On the Web
Method #1: Use the ‘Remove this follower’ option
For everyone using Twitter on the web, the ability to “Remove this follower” was recently rolled out. You can use this option to delete unwanted followers from your account without blocking them. As they will no longer be able to see your tweets on their timeline, you can limit your interactions with them on Twitter.
When your Twitter profile loads up, click on the ‘<number of> Followers’ link under your account info at the top.
On the next screen, you’ll see a list of all the people who follow you on Twitter. Here, click on the ‘3-dot’ icon next to the follower you wish to remove.
In the menu that appears, click on the ‘Remove this follower’ option.
In the next pop-up, Twitter will ask you to confirm your decision. Click on ‘Remove’ to go ahead and soft-block this person.
You will also be notified that the person you removed is no longer your follower on Twitter.
Method #2: Block someone and then unblock them
Open your favorite browser and log in to Twitter.com. Once you are logged in, visit the profile of the person that you wish to Soft Block.
Now click on the ‘3-dot’ menu icon beside their profile picture.
Click on ‘Block @<person>’ to soft-block them.
Confirm your choice by clicking on ‘Block’ again.
Once the person is blocked, click on the ‘3-dot’ menu icon again.
Now click on ‘Unblock @<person>’.
Confirm your choice by clicking on ‘Unblock’.
That’s all there is to it! The individual in question will no longer be a follower, and vice versa.
Note that a person who has previously soft blocked you can always follow you again in the future.
On your iOS device, open the Twitter app and go to the profile of the person you want to ban.
Now, in the top right corner of your screen, tap the ‘3-dot’ menu symbol.
Tap on ‘Block @<person>’.
Tap on ‘Block’ again to confirm your choice.
Note: If an undo banner displays at the top of your screen, do not tap it. While the individual will be unblocked, they will also be reinstated as a follower of yours, and vice versa.
Select ‘Unblock @person>’ from the ‘3-dot’ menu icon in the top right corner.
The person should now be unblocked for you and they should now be removed as your follower.
Open the Twitter app and go to the person’s profile you want to block. In the top right corner, tap the ‘three-dot’ icon.
Tap on ‘Block’ again to confirm your choice.
Once the person has been blocked, wait a few seconds and then tap on the ‘Blocked’ icon on their profile page.
Tap on ‘Yes’ to unblock the person.
That’s all there is to it! You’ve just completed a Soft Block, and the individual in question should no longer be a follower of yours.
We hope this article has given you a better understanding of what a Soft Block on Twitter is. If you run into any problems or have any further queries, please let us know in the comments section below.